Academic Program Review

Arizona Board of Regents Policy 2-208:  Academic Program Review

The purpose of academic program review is to examine, assess, and strengthen programs.
 
The areas in which program quality are evaluated include, but are not limited to:

  • quality of educational programs, including an assessment of student outcomes,
  • quality of research, creative activity, or scholarly work,
  • quality of outreach activities and service to the University, the profession, and the community,
  • contribution or importance of the program to other campus programs, and
  • potential and future expectations for the program. 

The review is intended to enhance the quality of a program and to assist in determining a program’s ability to respond to future challenges and opportunities; to evaluate strengths and weaknesses, and thus, determine future priorities; and to aid in shaping the program’s development plan.

APR Procedure Manual April 2014 (pdf)  Clinical Procedure Manual April 2014 (pdf)  APR Orientation Presentation 2014 (pdf)

Resources

Assessment at the University of Arizona               HLC Assessment Plan (pdf)     HLC Assessment Monitoring Report (pdf)

Peer Review of Teaching Protocol                        Teacher-Course Evaluation      Assessment Clear and Simple

Example of Excellent APR Self-Study (pdf)           Example of Excellent APR Self-Study Appendix (pdf)

Peer Institutions for the University of Arizona       Association of American Universities       Seven-Year APR Schedule

Academic Program Review Management Team

Provost's Office
Gail Burd
Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Phone: 626-4099
gburd@email.arizona.edu

Barbara Martinez                                                       Mary (Raphael) Fleming
Executive Associate to the Senior Vice Provost             Coordinator, Academic Planning, Academic Affairs
Phone: 626-4099                                                       Phone: 621-5901
bmarti@email.arizona.edu                                       raphael@email.arizona.edu

Office of Instruction and Assessment
Debra Tomanek                                                          Ingrid Novodvorsky
Associate Vice Provost for Instruction & Assessment      Director, Teaching, Learning and Assessment
Phone: 621-7380                                                        Phone: 626-4187 dtomanek@email.arizona.edu                                   novod@email.arizona.edu

Office of Academic Affairs -- Curricular Affairs
Celeste Pardee
Assistant Director, Academic Policies and Organizations
Phone: 621-5375, FAX 621-1008
cpardee@u.arizona.edu

UAIR -- University Analytics and Institutional Research
Sabah Currim                                   Rebecca Gray
Computer Scientist                           Data Warehouse Analyst, Senior
Phone: 626-1176                             Phone: 626-1575
scurrim@email.arizona.edu            rdgray@email.arizona.edu

Rick Kroc                                         Wendy Miley
Associate Vice Provost                      Assistant Director
 Phone: 621-8543                             Phone: 621-5717
kroc@email.arizona.edu                mileyw@email.arizona.edu